Review: Doctor Who Season 6 Episode 1 & 2

*Spoiler FREE review**

This weekend I was finally able to watch the first two episodes of season 6 of Doctor Who (“Impossible Astronaut” and “Day of the Moon”). While I was disappointed last weekend that I didn’t have time to watch the first episode the second it aired, I was actually really glad that I could watch the second episode right after the first, I think I would have been in a tizzy all week if I had had to wait. The first episode’s cliff hanger is ridiculous (in a good way). But it meant that I immediate watched the second episode.

My mind was literally blown by the epicness of these two episodes. I’m not just talking the wide-lens filming of the United States, though that was way awesome too, or that fact that there were several different locales filmed, because that was way cool also, but I’m talking about the grandness of the story arc. Not just in the first two episodes (which really you should try to watch together), but in bringing back things from season 4 and especially season 5. Which is my one contention with the first two episodes, they are not really new user friendly. I would suggest going back and watching season 5 before watching them, and if you have time season 4. But as a no longer new to Doctor Who viewer, I was in heaven!

I thought the re-introduction to some of t.v.’s most beloved characters on the air currently was brilliant. The new baddies are also a bit of brilliance there. I kept reading how every one found them scary and frightening, and I poo pahed their faint little hearts, but um, yah, actually kind of scary, only in a nail biting edge of your seat kind of way. I generally haven’t found Doctor Who scary, intense by all means, but those Daleks make me want to pull my ears of my head so I don’t have to hear them, and I find that way more annoying than scary. But this season’s baddies, ubber scary in a – um, so maybe that kind of monster exists- kind of way. Which was absolutely brilliant and fantastic.

The acting, as always, was spot on. Karen Gillan, as Amy Pond, is absolutely brilliant. Her face conveys so many emotions that you feel everything she is feeling. Her relationship with the Doctor is refreshing and heart warming. Arthur Darvill’s portrayal of Mr. Amy Pond (aka Rory) is complex with his subtle yet not so subtle character. Rory has really grown as an individual from the beginning of last season, and that is all due to Darvill (well ok, and the writers. :D ). One of my favorite bits from the second episode is of Rory, but I shan’t say more because this is supposed to be spoiler free. (I didn’t say I wouldn’t tease). Once again Alex Kingston returns as River Song and continues to lend more mystery to the series with her, “Spoilers!” warnings. Her character and the Doctor find each other in reverse chronological order. It’s her past and his future. Which makes for a very interesting story line and I can’t wait to see more of her!

Finally, Matt Smith. The Doctor. I know every one was disappointed when David Tennant left the series, myself included. It took me a bit to get around to watching season 5. And now I think I’m in love with yet another character. Smith’s portrayal of the Doctor is with such enthusiasm for the character and the show that I now consider him “my doctor.” I enjoyed Christopher Eccleston’s portrayal, and was fond of Tennant, but Matt Smith is definitely my favorite. He plays the Doctor with such emotions and thought and feeling, yet never loosing that sense of awe of the universe that Doctor maintains, that I think he is a fantastic actor. I love his persona off stage, in his interviews. He seems like a really great person, quirky and alien in his movements, that I think he makes the perfect Doctor.

I cannot say any more good things about this show, not because I don’t have more to say, but because this post is already really long. If you are a fan of science fiction, fantasy, thrillers, drama, love, life, exploration of the universe, or blue boxes marked Police, I suggest giving Doctor Who a try. I find the show thrilling, heart wrenching, heart warming, and it never fails to put a smile on my face.

Generally when a man says to trust him, I don’t. But I make an exception with the Doctor.

One thought on “Review: Doctor Who Season 6 Episode 1 & 2

Leave your own absurd thought

