Browncoats and Wizards

Several events are happening in August for the geek oriented Chicagoan. First up is Chicago Comic Con Wizard World on August 11-14, 2011. The Con will be held at Donald E. Stephens Convention Center (Rosemont, IL so not really in Chicago) and features many great actors who have played awesome nerd-loved, science fiction, and cult characters. Advanced tickets for one day is $25 and you can of course pay more to get VIP treatment. As this is not in Chicago, and a little out of my price range to get my geek on, I wont be going. But if you have a car and the money, sounds like fun!

Can’t Stop the Serenity Event which is happening August 20, 2011, at the Portage Theater here in Chicago. There will be a screening of Serenity and Dr. Horrible’s Sing-a-long Blog. When you go please remember to bring an item to donate to a local charity to spread the good will of the Browncoats. Don’t worry if you don’t have a ticket yet, you can get one at the door for only $15 (cash only). Doors open at 6 p.m. and there will be a costume contest, auction and door prizes. This I might actually go to, if I can talk a friend into coming with me. I really hate handling crowds on my own. I get elbowed a lot and people seem to look right over my head. Not seem to, they do. Doesn’t make for a pleasant crowd experience ever.

Leave your own absurd thought

