Review: Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows

Since I’m totally in crush with Robert Downey Jr. so my opinion of his work is always biased. I enjoyed the first movie he did as Sherlock Holmes but I definitely thought this second one was better. That is right, the sequel is better. There are a couple of main reasons, the first reason was that I saw at least four specific parts that were nearly exact references to the original stories of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. And they were space throughout the movie perfectly interacting with the new construct of this franchise. I thought that was brilliantly done. Also, this movie had far less of Rachel Adams in it. Now, I don’t hate Rachel Adams or anything. I like her 50% of the time and the other 50% I’m all Mehness (sort of like what I think of Cameron Diaz’s acting/movies she choose to subject herself to being in). The story line was more intricate, the bromance funny, the references to the original Sherlock stories awesome, and the cinematography was excellent.

Heelloooo Holmes

Slight Spoilers Ahead

Watson (Jude Law) and his Lady Friend are about to be married. Which I was kind of annoyed that that was a big deal for the movie, but then they allowed soon to be Mrs. Watson (played by Kelly Rielly, one smoking hot woman) received more than a bit part and actually showed off her gumption a bit too. So I was happy enough to let this be a decent subplot without picking it apart too much. Holmes and Watson continue their bromance with some funny bits (that were mostly all given away in the trailer, but that’s what I’ve come to expect from Hollywood anymore). Holmes brother makes his appearance for the sake of making an appearance really, but Stephen Fry had me at V for Vendetta, so he can show up in any movie he wants any time in my humble opinion. The newcomer to the franchise is one Madam Simza Heron, played by Noomi Rapace, and I really liked her and her part in this story. I was anxious it was going to be some triangle love story with Holmes and Irene Adler or even Watson, but they kept her character out of any love triangle and I was grateful. I think it gave her more umph as a character and made her badassery, more badass. And she was definitely a badass and not just some D.I.D (Damsel In Distress).

I like that she is often a red head! Woot!

But the best part of A Game of Shadows was Moriarty played by Jared Harris. Moriarty is one of my favorite characters from the stories, I read them a long time ago, and I really should read them again. But Holmes has been, up until Moriarty shows up, a smug asshole and mean to Watson. And Moriarty takes him down a peg or too. And I was wondering how that dynamic would play out in A Game of Shadows, and I have to say it was excellent. I loved all of his scenes with Holmes, I loved their chemistry, I love the competition, and I really liked how it all came together in A Game of Shadows. I was pleased with the intricacy of the plot, especially the points having to do with Moriarty and I think that Harris played him to perfection. Very enjoyable to watch.

But perhaps the best part of the movie was the cinematography. The shadows and light effects, the camera angles, the capturing of moments was beautiful. I loved the artistry of the piece. The dresses, hair-dos, and the steampunk aspects of the movie were awesome. I really like enjoyed watching Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadow and recommend it as a piece of art to go and watch. Enjoy the story and hopefully it encourages people to go and read the books.

 

Edit: I meant to put this in before. But read another review here and here.

2 thoughts on “Review: Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows

Leave your own absurd thought

