Nodds & Nends: TARDIS Shed, Gumball Zombie Machine, and a DIY Geeky Craft Show

Here is your bi-weekly dose of those Nerdy Odds & Ends I seem to find every time I turn the corner on the internets.

Check out a new book blog written like a comic over at Picture Me Reading. She has some great reviews and I quite enjoy reading her posts. Plus she often partakes in the book blogging memes, highlighting poems and what not. It is a great blog, you should check it out.

Problems at Good Reads continues. Now they areĀ discipliningĀ the reviewers by hiding bad reviews, or those reviews that have nothing to do with the book. Because apparently all the bad blood on Good Reads a site for readers, is the fault of all the readers rather than the fault of a few people bickering back and forth. Siding with the authors is evidenced by their statement of review the book not the author, a montra authors have been chanting for a while now. But why are we censoring reviewers? One author asks people not to avenger her, and then she questions why there appears to be a lot of sexism in the silencing of bad reviewers. It is a contentious issue on the internets right now, and people are not done talking about it. What the final fall out will be? I’m not sure.

On a lighter note, check out this TARDIS shed being attacked by a Dalek. I still don’t understand why the Dalek’s are so cutsified or how they raise any terror. They are just large trash cans that move really slowly with one laser pointer. I’m not a fan of them. Let’s just take a bat to all of them!

Can’t get enough of Warehouse 13? Well check out these interviews at SpoilerTV for some fun reading in between episodes. Note the sites banner of beautiful people. Drool.

After what happened in Colorado, our hearts go out to the victims and their families, people are cautious in their reviews of the Dark Knight Rises. Tragedy is now aligned with the movie, and that makes it a sensitive subject. But I did find a great review on Nashville Bookworm.

Have you ever wanted to take a gumball from the head of a taxidermied zombie on a spike? Me neither. But somebody thought it would be a good idea. That is just soooo wrong, I’m sure my mother will love it! :D

A Geeky DIY crafting show hosted by Bonnie Burton is not available for your viewing pleasure on Youtube. Looks like a fun time. Remember there is no glitter in steampunk. [via The Mary Sue]

 

 

 

30 thoughts on “Nodds & Nends: TARDIS Shed, Gumball Zombie Machine, and a DIY Geeky Craft Show

  1. Wow there has been a lot of drama on goodreads..one of the books I recently reviewed ‘The Selection’ apparently the author her agent were deliberately pushing up good reviews and try to push away bad ones!

  2. I always thought the Daleks were a bit weak… but of course, they were a product of very early Who… in England, the joke was always that you just had to run upstairs to escape a Dalek ;)

    Can’t wait for season seven… I have a YouTube app on my media player that’s hooked up to my big screen TV so I was able to enjoy the trailer in full HD widescreen big-assed glory! :D

    BTW, have been meaning to ask… have you ever watched Red Dwarf? That’s coming back too… :)

      • I highly recommend the Dimension Jump episode – not sure which season it is – but it’s an excellent Top Gun parody :)

        “Smoke me a kipper… I’ll be back for breakfast!”

      • Here is the story, if interested.

        So I went to a community college for two years before transferring to a Christian university in the Midwest. If you make a guess, you probably mostly right, and if it isn’t the exact school, it was *that* school. I went from being, not exactly the most popular girl at school, but I had a definite cohort of rotating friends of which I was the centering . . .rod? to the girl no one knew, who was not a freshman, not a sophomore, and not a junior, but a bit of all three.

        My first week of classes I arrived to a class one hour late, to another fifteen minutes early (faulty clock), and stepped on a bee with no idea where to find a single ice cube. On Friday, I was sitting at a large round table in the middle of the dining commons eating some bland cafeteria food, weighed down by the realization that where before I had 15 people I ate lunch with every day, for the first time in over two years I was eating lunch all by my lonesome. Sobering moment. Suddenly a chorus of young male voices echoed through the large room, I looked behind me. 10 or 20 freshmen male soccer players came jogging around the dining commons in 80s shorts and sports bras (I really wonder where they got those, anyhoo). I don’t remember what they were shouting but I returned to my food. 30 seconds later the entire group of guys was surrounding my table singing “You’ve lost that loving feeling” in its entirety. The “lead” guy grabbed the carnation off the table, got down on one knee and handed it to me. EVERY SINGLE PERSON in the entire dining commons watching the whole debacle. I got red in the face from embarrassment and laughing my butt off. I thanked the dude for the flower, putting it back in its holder as they jogged back out of the dining commons chanting something else.

Leave your own absurd thought

