Nodds & Nends: Jurassic Park Styled heels, YA Books For Boys, and Be All The Avengers

Are YA books really female centric, or do they have something for boys too? This author/blogger makes the case that there are plenty of YA books that teach boys excellent lessons for becoming good men. She also has some excellent words on raising boys to be good men. Personally, I’m just avoiding that whole worry by not having children of my own, and messing up everyone else’s kids. And by messing them up I mean encouraging them to be uberdorks.

These DIY dinosaur heels are awesome. Although I can’t weld, so I actually wont be doing this for myself. The whole deconstructing the shoe is a little painful to watch as a shoe lover, but thankfully he puts the heels back together and adding the dinosaur means I’ll forgive him for his destruction. I just wonder if there is a better way. Maybe deconstructing the dinosaur? Maybe some how molding them together like this. [via The Mary Sue]

Did you have a hard time with a Halloween costume this year? Maybe it is because you can’t decide which Avenger you want to be? Why not be all of them? This guy was. He even added an eye patch for Nick Fury.

This Harry Potter Griffindor cake looks wonderful. And as I just ate a Boston Creme donut, I’m not even envious of the people who get to eat it.

By Two Kings Confections via Wikimedia Commons