Nodds & Nends: Much Ado, Tim Burton’s Avengers, and Song of the Lonely Mountain

LionsGate has picked up Whedon’s Much Ado About Nothing, a contemporary film noir take on the Bard’s play. Perhaps this means the rest of us, not part of the Indie film festival circuit will be able to see this film. In the mean time, you can read a review of the film here, with some telling tidbits of the cast of characters. After learning who Nathan Fillion plays, I want to see this film so much more!

Jayne’s Vera as a real girl. You can buy prints of her. I wonder how many people will see this and want to cosplay her. If you do, I want pictures. :)

GIF is the American word of the year, according to Oxford’s Dictionary. The Mary Sue posted their favorites. Speaking of GIFs,  here’s a cool one from io9 of a 3D nebula rotating.

 These Burtonesque versions of The Avengers, are just too. . . . (I was going to say, too cool for words, but then I realized, I was probably going to talk more about them, and then that sentence wouldn’t be true.) Check out the artist’s DeviantArt site, there is some pretty cool stuff. Including this illustration of Loki that started it all.

Song of the Lonely Mountain from The Hobbit. I CANNOT WAIT to see this movie. It’s a travesty I didn’t get to see it this weekend. You can hear a wonderful version here at RollingStone.