I Turn 30 and Reflect on My Childhood by Telling Stories

Today I walked into my cubicle and was met with this:

balloons

I hit the big 3-0 today and if the world doesn’t end tomorrow, then I get to try to lead a better decade than the one I just left. I’m one of those weird people who still loves getting older past the age of 17. The other day I was talking with a co-worker and we both agreed no one could pay us any amount of money to go back in time and be a teenager again. For one thing, I was a super angry 15-year-old. While I still continue to struggle with anger, an inherited curse, I’ve learned many coping mechanisms over the past 15 years that I’m a much happier person- mostly. Unless someone is riding up the left hand side of the elevator instead of walking.

Every year that I’ve lived has only gotten better- except for 2012. This. Year. Sucked.

Major.

But I’m excited for new opportunities that lie ahead. I’m looking forward to changes and challenges in 2013 that I feel is necessary for the well-being of the Sagittarius who lives inside of me. I’m looking forward to not only striving to be happier, but being content with where I am in life. Contentment has not been par for the course for me in 2012. I’ve never be content to settle in any aspect of my life. When I find myself settling I ask, ‘What change can I make to step out of that rut and back onto the highway?’ Then I careen about life much like I do on the Wii when playing the racing cow game where you knock over scarecrows and jump over things.

I race like the person on the white cow, though honestly I do manage to pick up a few points even as I run around like a chicken with its head cut off.

*P.S. This is a really long post, I’d apologize, but it’d been insincere. Anyway, that’s why I put a break after the cow video.

*P.P.S. I’ve edited this posting in light of recent of the recent tragedy, but if people still find my story of filming Tangle Tree Island I do apologize.

Read the funny and horror stories I have of growing up. The post is long. You have been warned!