Nodds & Nends: Mary Poppins, Batman and Superheroines

Mary Poppins and Burt cosplay. So cute!!! [via]

An interesting take on superheroines, they are fully clothed! The artist is Michael Lee Lunsford tumblr.

I just love this discussion about Book Coverss by Aidan and Alisa on Picture Me Reading Book Club extra. It’s true that covers really influence what I think a book will be like, and when it doesn’t match the tone of the book I get annoyed. I find that a lot of urban fantasy books look very similar on the cover even if the tone of the book is different from standard urban fantasy. The cover for the Darkfever that I own looks like this. While the cover that Alisa found and posted for my discussion on it on Picture Me Reading, looked a lot more like a romance novel. The books themselves are really dark, creepy, and heart wrenching. I think none of the covers really look like what I would think the cover of the book series should look like except Shadowfever. Gothic, otherworldly, and a hint of human.

Some of my favorite places to follow on the internets are Think Geek on both Pinterest and Google+, they post some really cool things. For example this Calvin & Hobbes kid’s room is just too adorable for words. I love the simplicity of the mural. [via] I also discovered these really cool larger than life Star Wars Legos made out of wood from them. How amazing are these wooden sculptures! Just awesome. Plus sometimes I just go on to Think Geek’s product page and check out all the cool things, like this Batman Family in decals, because I have a dark sense of humor this made me giggle for a really long time.

f483_batman_car_decal 

2 thoughts on “Nodds & Nends: Mary Poppins, Batman and Superheroines

Leave your own absurd thought

