Book Review: Code Name Verity

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein will be going on my all time favorite books I read in 2013. It is a deliciously written, heart wrenching tale, of women working for the British War Effort. An historical fictitious tale, Wein writes the struggles of two friends as they help their country in a time of need. The story is written from both girls’ perspectives, and I guess it could also be termed an epistolary tale, as it is told from the letters one girl writes and the reports another girl writes.

code name verity

I don’t want to give too much away, because the story reveals itself beautifully, in a complicated and wonderful voice. But I will say that I enjoyed that the story was told from two different perspectives, and Wein did a great job of making their way of writing completely different. I really felt I knew the girls because of the way they wrote and from the perspective of the other person writing about them.

I haven’t read a lot of historical fiction lately, because it often is so much about the history that the story is lost and the voices of the characters and their emotions are lost. But, if this is the start of a new and fresh take on historical fictions, I may reconvert to reading the genre again. I recommend picking up this book even if historical fiction or young adult fiction are not your normal cup of tea. This is just a really good book and reaches past the boxes it has been labeled as, and tells a wonderful heartbreaking story.

One thought on “Book Review: Code Name Verity

  1. Pingback: 30 Days of Thankful: Books and The Ones I Loved in 2013 | Absurdly Nerdly

Leave your own absurd thought

