Book Review: Pleasure Unbound

pleasure unbound

I read Pleasure Unbound as part of the Virginal Fantasy book club. I read it after the group had, but that was my library’s fault. So there. I don’t often post reviews of the scifi erotic type of books that I read because they are all very similar and I read a lot of books so culling out the scifi erotica on my to do list has made the list much more manageable. However, lately my reading has decreased significantly and so culling is not as necessary, plus I thought this series had some unique aspects to it.

Synopsis from GoodReads:

She’s a demon-slayer who hungers for sensual pleasure-but fears it will always be denied her. Until Tayla Mancuso lands in a hospital run by demons in disguise, and the head doctor, Eidolon, makes her body burn with unslakable desire. But to prove her ultimate loyalty to her peers, she must betray the surgeon who saved her life.

I liked how demonic did not necessarily equal bad. It reminded me of Whedon’s show Angel. Demonic is more similar to alien than necessarily evil. They even have an underground network to take care of each other, including the aforementioned hospital. The hospital has a spell on it so creatures who normally don’t get along can’t fight each other there. It reminds me of Lorne’s karaoke bar on Angel. I dislike that the brothers are exempted from the no fighting rule, seems an unnecessary exemption, the author just wanting to write some fight scenes. If you are the models for the demon society, maybe you should be modeling peaceful interactions? But what do I know.

The demon slayer is your typical, I don’t really know what’s going on, type of characters. But I did like that when she begins to understand how her organization may be corrupt she investigates further and wants more knowledge. She doesn’t stick her head in the sand. The sex scenes are appropriately power struggle filled, but didn’t really stick out in my head. Honestly, the book would have been fine without them.

In my mind this series is part of the Buffy/Angel universe, just a part we never heard about before. It has some similar organizations and story line aspects to Whedon’s shows. It was enjoyable and I plan on reading more of the series.

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Pleasure Unbound

Leave your own absurd thought

