Life is a Video Game, I Can Prove it

Recently, I had a visitor, my best friend came west for a few days. We went antiquing, to the aquarium, and spent a day at the Dallas Museum of Art. On our way to the museum I pulled up the latest app on my phone, Waze. A community sourcing gps map provider. As people are driving down the road they can input road hazards warning other Wazers of upcoming traffic delays which in turn can be useful in rerouting and avoiding traffic jams. As we by-passed cars on the shoulder, construction, and made our way through the ever present road obstacle, I input hazards and earned points. Upping my Wazer toward the next level, where I will get a shield. I really want that shield!

Once we got to the DMA, which is wonderfully free, we were somewhat bombarded by staff to sign up in their points system. At each entry way into a new gallery there was a code posted, after sending the code as a text message we would get points on our account. These points could be used to get a ticket into one of the two exhibits that cost money, or used as a discount at the cafeteria or store. You can also save up your points over several visits to get free parking etc. At some points, where all the masks start looking the same and I get overwhelmed, I found myself wandering from gallery to gallery just to get the points.

Sara turned to me and said, “I think life is a video game to you some times.”

Yes, yes it is. I love collecting points. I love redeeming points. My smartphone has turned my life into a video game.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

2 thoughts on “Life is a Video Game, I Can Prove it

  1. Weirdly, I was just in a webinar at work earlier today where we were talking about the Dallas Museum of Art’s badge program. One of the big rationales behind it is that it lets you measure what people are actually interacting with in a museum, because it’s not practical to count how many people view each exhibit each day. Kind of a neat way to figure out what museum visitors are doing when they’re there and what kind of exhibits they like. :)

  2. Pingback: Life is a Video Game Part 2 | Absurdly Nerdly

Leave your own absurd thought

