Movie Review: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part II

So, I promised a review of the last movie in the Harry Potter series, and here it is. I’m gonna keep this short and sweet because a headache is forming in the back of my brain and creeping forward due to multiple changes in my work life, as well as, my torso just aches from the yoga class I did last night where I “stretched” myself to the limit. Yes, that was a really bad pun.

If you haven’t read the book or watched Deathly Hallows Part I or Part II, don’t read this. Also, if you haven’t watched those, why would you be reading this? Though, as I have recently relearned people are stupid, so…

I was so excited to see the last movie of Harry Potter that I was clenching my fist in anticipation and biting at my knuckles as the lights dimmed and the actual previews began to flicker across the screen. Over all I liked the movie, but I don’t see it much as a stand alone, and was glad I had re-watched Deathly Hallows Part I prior to going to the movie theater. I really do think all the main child/young adult actors have grown in their acting skills and it was great fun to watch the story come to life. But I can away from the movie sorta meh. Not in a nostalgic way, but as my friend Keith said, he would wait for the DVD to come out before watching the movie again. And I’m sitting here trying to think about what it was that made it me, and I can’t pin-point it exactly except that the pacing of the movie seemed off. Except for a few brilliant moments.

Con: Snape’s back story with Harry’s mom. First of all, not in the books. Second of all, not even part of the cannon of the movie series. Harry’s Aunt and Mom in no way were under the weeping willow tree when they were kids. That makes no sense.

Pro: Matthew Lewis as Neville Longbottom. I mean that boy has grown up fine. And he had an awesome part in the movie. Playing the comic relief, with heart, and bravery where it counted. And frankly I totally agreed with his sentiments about Harry being dead, who cares. That is no reason to give up and give in to Voldermont. Bunch of Pussy Wizards!!!

Con: Voldemort, I mean he’s the bad guy right? But I felt like he was played with restraint and girly tip toe moves and wand holding. What was up with that. I mean Ralph Fiennes is intense as Voldemort, but I felt like if I could pick up Neville’s Griffendor Sword I’d chop of his snake head instead of the snake’s head and be done with it. No wonder Harry isn’t scared of him, I wasn’t either. Also, even though my friend explained to me the reason that everyone laughed when Voldemort was taunting Neville was because he looked funny, NOT COOL PEOPLE! Neville is the only one of hundreds of wizards standing there to take a stand. Like come one! And then you laugh at his shiny moment. For shame.

Pro: Hermoine and Ron finally kiss, and frankly it was perfectly done. At just the right moment and Hermoine’s little giggle at the end was spot on. ::sigh:: I also appreciated Ron running from the fire and grabbing Hermoine’s hand and Harry be damned.

Con: But that is where the cuteness of their new take on the relationship ended. I felt Ron’s, “She’s my girlfriend now, so don’t touch her” was a bit forced in the moment of what was happening. I think that Rupert Grint played it fine, just the words he had to work with not quite spot on.

If she were my girlfriend, I’d be possessive too.
By Dee Jarvis, Panache Imagery [CC-BY-SA-3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons

Pro: I liked the bringing Professor Dumbledore back in Harry’s mind as a kind of knowledge imparter to be cool. Go Dumbledore!

Con: Fetal, aborted looking, Voldermort SOOOO not necessary.

Pro: All the fight scenes were excellent. I like that every one has advanced in magic enough that they don’t even have to speak wizzardy words but can just throw different colored sparks at each other and wam! Also shout out to Professor McGonagall and Molly Weasley for having some back bone and beating back the bad guys!!!

There were definite moments of greatness, but I felt the in between flow of the story line was a bit off. Not sure exactly how, just off. I definitely liked it and will be watching it many times in the future because it was a good movie and a decent end (though not a fabulous end) to the movie series.

One thought on “Movie Review: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part II

  1. All in all, all of the personality and charm of the series was zapped away in an attempts to make this final movie is action-packed as possible. It’s a shame to see something that you’ve grown up with, learned to love, taken and twisted into somebody’s ‘vision.’ I mean, why bother adding your own unimportant scenes to the movie, when there are perfectly good ones in the book that you did not bother using at all? There’s no…bonding with the characters, no connection with them you felt in Part

Leave your own absurd thought

