Movie Review: Conan the Barbarian

I went and saw Conan the Barbarian (2011) last weekend where I went in expecting little plot line and lots of fighting, and I got exactly what I was expecting. It was awesome. I’m not sure how Jason Momoa runs around in a purple skirt the entire time and is one of the hottest men to grace the big screen this year (yes, I’m including Chris Hemsworth and his famous abs here. Move over Hemsworth, another man’s abs have taken your place).

Hello Hottness!!
Screen Still from the Movie

I loved the action in this movie, it was perfectly time and one of the best action movies I have seen in a while. It literally went action, breather (like 2 minutes), action, breather (like 1 minute), action, sex, action, boob, fighting, etc. It was awesome. I thought the fight scenes were done well, brutal, gory, done as hand-to-hand combat with some broadsword thrown in. I would not recommend taking a four-year-old to the theater as some parents in my viewing of the movie did. I mean for realz people!! Not only was the kid terrified and made this plain by yelling over the sound of the movie (which wasn’t easy, it was a loud movie), but then the parents were heard continuously hushing the kid. Leave your kid with the sitter or your parents, please. But if you want to see a for real action movie with fight scenes and if you hate Ron Perlman as much as my mother and want to see his face get melted off, go see this movie.

Rose McGowan as totally evil sorceress lady.
Screen Still from the Movie

There were three things that bothered me about the movie. ***SLIGHT SPOILERS*** One: Rachel Nichols (Star Trek (2009), Alias) character Tamara seemed to have a 21st century mindset about her role in the world under the guise of being a monk. Yah, I didn’t buy that. Second: A cottage appears at the edge of the world to have sex in. Sweet. Not buying that either. Three: Sex on hay, without any type of blanket to cut down on the slivers and cuts one inevitably receives when experiencing skin to hay contact. Yah. Right. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying don’t have a sex scene. I’m saying, don’t take me out of the moment of barbarism and gory fighting to do so.

All in all I loved that I got what I paid for when I went to see the movie. It was what it advertised men running around fighting. One hot man in particular without ever wearing a shirt and continuously showing us his awesome abs did some pretty good fighting. I haven’t seen the original movie in completeness, so I wont comment on it as a remake. But as an action movie, I thought it was excellent.

Read Action Chick Flick’s review here.

One thought on “Movie Review: Conan the Barbarian

  1. The film is dumb, hackneyed and, well, just plain bad – much like the 1982 original – but because it knows and makes fun of that, it plays for a smart and entertaining ride. Good Review! Check out my review when you can!

Leave your own absurd thought

