Movie Review: X-Men: First Class

X-Men: First Class is a look at how the X-men were formed and how Charles Xavier (James McAvoy) and Erik Lehnsherr (Michael Fassbender) become Professor X and Magneto. The story is set during the 1960s and is a gripping tale of how the evil of others spreads through generations and continues to affect the young and impressionable. Erik is dead set on avenging the death of his mother and Charles is trying to stop Erik while trying to pretend the government wont lock them up in straight jackets for being the better men (aka mutants). The story is complicated, intriguing, and full of no surprises.

I liked the cinematography. I liked the story line OK, but frankly it has rather been done time and again. Taking something light and fluffy and turning it dark- so over that. ::coughBatmanReturnscough:: The story held absolutely no surprises, and that was a bit disappointing. Because it wasn’t campy enough to be delightful enough to overcome the lack of surprises. The movie took itself seriously, well I would have liked a serious plot twist. What I was most pleased with, and frankly expected as much knowing the stellar cast, but the acting was spot on. Jennifer Lawrence, who played Raven Darkholme was an absolute delight, but I’m frankly half in love with her any way. She would have stolen the show but James McAvoy and Michael Fassbender were superb, and hot, and yum.

A second movie is rumored to be in the works. I just hope it has more going for it than 60s mini dresses and Kevin Bacon frowning a lot. I love period time pieces and wished that the movie had played that part of the story out more fully than just clothing. I’m frankly glad I waited until it was released on DVD, I would have been majorly disappointed to pay box office prices to see it. But I enjoyed the movie, enjoyed the development of the characters, and appreciated all the eye candy. I think it was a really good movie, but not a great one. And it wasn’t quite fun enough for me to make up for that fact. Read another review here.

Leave your own absurd thought

