Nodds & Nends: Disney Mermaids, Xena Cosplay, and littleBits

Your weekly dose of nerdy odds and ends is here. Honestly, I’m throwing the kitchen sink at you today.

Interested in nerdy corsets? Because who doesn’t want to be bound and wrapped in fabric? Check out the Mary Sue’s gallery of nerdy corsets.

Does this not look like a Medieval Torture Device to you?
Picture Public Domain

Remember back a while ago when I mentioned that my mother was trying to get a job with littleBits, and electronic toy company for adults? Well, she got the job, how awesome is that? So, how about showing the company some love and “liking” their Facebook page?

I’m in love with all the Disney and Fairy Tail illustrations I run across every week. Check out this lovely picture of Snow White by Charlie Bowater. It is gorgeous. Still jonesing for some more Disney? Check out these amazing and fierce mermaids by daekazu. He has some more awesome illustrations, so check out his deviant art page and if you like his art work, you can “like” his Facebook page.

Check out the website Geek x Girls, who have some great cosplay pictures up. My favorite is the Serenity Crew line up. Awesome. More cosplay finds this week include some Xena Cosplay (via). Her costume is one of the more authentic looking ones that I have seen. And if that is not enough cosplay to brighten up your Thursday morning, check out these pictures from the San Diego Comic Con 2012.

cc Twice25 via Wikimedia Commons

Josh Craig’s interesting post about reading poorly written books makes some excellent points. I read a lot of books and interacting with and thinking critically of them helped improve my own writing as I discovered (and continue to discover) what has worked and what has not worked for other people. If we only read the best written books do we really have a broad understanding of writing?  Does bad writing necessarily equal work that bad? Not necessarily. I enjoy many types of entertainment, even if it isn’t the best written. This goes for television and movies as well. What about when you do find that poorly written piece of literature you didn’t even find entertaining, what is the best way to write a good bad review? This article discusses some of the finer points of critiquing other people’s works. [via RIASS]

8 thoughts on “Nodds & Nends: Disney Mermaids, Xena Cosplay, and littleBits

  1. Excellent question about reviewng bad work. I read a piece of fiction this week on a blog that was so bad I thought it might rip the fabric of space time.

    The writer has talent and good ideas. On this piece she seemed more intent on impressing us with her big vocabulary than she was about communicating an idea. The writer’s ego got in the way here.
    I’m glad I’m not a reviewer because ouch, this could be delicate turf.

    • I think, as in all things, it takes practice to learn how to carry the correct tone when critiquing someone else’s art. Creativity is so important to the human existence that I think most other creative types don’t want to tear down that work because it is creative. However, I think you can say, Yes and. Yes this was creative. And if there was this tweaking it could evolve. It is a hard balance to strike for sure.

      • I personally like constructive critique..I think if you put your ego aside and say..hey they are not saying I am not talented they are saying I need to do this or that in order to take my work to the next level. I think because I went to art school and had to suffer through heart slicing critiques some of which were helpful others which were completely devastating..I empathize with how hard it is to put your work out there! I agree for sure that is a hard balance! A good constructive critique is the best thing in the world really for an artist!

  2. Sigh, I hate writing negative reviews. I always try to be nice and constructive, because, you know, I don’t want someone horribly slashing my own work apart! Do unto others and all that. 🙂

    I think it’s also important to differentiate between whether a book just doesn’t work, or whether it doesn’t work for a particular reader.

Leave your own absurd thought

