Doctor Who Christmas Special Review and New Season Trailer

Doctor Who Christmas Special Review (2012)doctor-who-christmas-special-2012-matt-smith-jenna-louise-coleman-snowmen-bbc-america

Synopsis: The Doctor is brooding from his break-up with the Ponds and he no longer investigates things. Plus, it’s been 3 years since the begining of last season when he was 997 and so he’s a thousand years old. Which is a long time to live and you can tell it’s wearing on him, mostly because he keeps talking about the fact that he’s a thousand years old. Vastra and her wife as well as Strax have been trying to get him to take on a case of saving the earth, but the Doctor is done saving people. I think this is sort of like how I wont have pets because they keep on dying, the Doctor is refusing to take on human pets because they keep on leaving him. But then he meets Clara a barmaid who also is a governess and she engages him about a snowman that is suddenly there where it hasn’t been before, the snow flakes have memory and the ability to follow people’s thoughts of them. Clara is intrigued by the Doctor and follows him around and when the snowmen become scary monsters trying to take over the world, and when the frozen pond takes on life and chases her and her charges down, she calls on him for him.

*If you haven’t even seen the trailer, there might be spoilers, but I don’t consider anything in a trailer a spoiler so felt free to make my comments.

My Thoughts: I enjoyed that this Christmas special was a set up for the next story line while being a complete little Doctor Who mystery all on its own. Matt Smith is in rare form brooding and coming to life with adventure. I do like Jenna-Louise Coleman as the Doctor’s new companion. She has fresh excitement and a mystery all to her ownself. I’m not going to be happy if it turns into a romantic relationship, the Doctor is after all currently married to River Song, so that will make me uber mad. Mostly because I have personal issues with men who wont declare themselves in the relationships that they are in, but pretend to be bachelors thinking its ok as long as they don’t do anything wrong. So not OK. The snowmen were a nice monster of an episode and I’m completely excited for the new season.

Here is the new title sequence and you can watch the new trailer over at The Mary Sue.

16 thoughts on “Doctor Who Christmas Special Review and New Season Trailer

  1. I have to agree with you about enjoying the episode, but likewise, he’s married, why are they making it appear romantic?! What will River Song have to say about this?
    I am not impressed with that idea.
    However I love the mystery around his new companion. She’s great. I fell back in love with Doctor Who over the Christmas special! 🙂

  2. I liked it a lot, in general… I liked the new title sequence, especially the nod to the original Who with the Doctor’s face…

    I liked Jenna Louise Coleman… I wasn’t surprised they tied Clara to Oswin but I WAS surprised at how they did it. I’m definitely looking forward to seeing how that works out.

    Much as I love her, I’m honestly wondering what use River is now though… her parents are no longer in the show… we know who she is… we know what she did… besides being the Doctor’s wife (comedic opportunities aside) I don’t see what else there is for her… yet. Moffat, of course, may have other ideas.

    I’m also definitely looking forward to the second half of the season as a whole… it should be good 🙂

    The one thing I didn’t like was the TARDIS interior. He’s supposed to be depressed… and what do you do when you’re depressed? Do you decorate your room with brightly coloured red, yellow and blue neon and make it look like an 80’s disco?

    No.

    If you’re going to use neon while you’re depressed, Doctor, at least use that weird ultraviolet purply one that your eyes can’t focus on.

    ’nuff said.

  3. Okay guys, I’ve had an idea… hear me out… what if… Clara / Oswin is River Song regenerated? We all know she had that ability because she was conceived in the TARDIS… I believe she’s since lost the ability, but I might be wrong… and who’s to say Moffat hasn’t thought of a way around that? After all, we are dealing with timey-wimey stuff here…

    Maybe Clara / Oswin is River BEFORE she regenerated into River? Hmmmmm… the mind races!

  4. I love Doctor Who but I’m beginning to feel like this season is rushed. There were moments where I wanted the Christmas episode to stop for a moment so some explanation for everything could be given.

    It was trying to do too much in too little a space of time, particularly the Clara/Oswin story.

Leave your own absurd thought

