Top Books of 2012

After reading about io9s sci/fi books of 2012Stephanie’s at RIASS top reads for 2012, and several Top Ten Tuesday lists such as  Alisa’s over at Picture Me Reading, I thought about the books I’ve read this year and which ones were my favorite. I’m not so on top of the ball as to have joined the Top Ten Tuesday list and usually I only pick two books I’ve read that particular year and tell everyone about them. Then I make other recommendations based on what the person tells me they like, as I read across genres and usually have a book or two in common with most people. This year I feel like I’ve read so many good books that I don’t know how to pick my top two. I do have four that I’ve been trying to get everyone to read and figured I should list them in case anyone missed my reviews of these awesome book.  My top four books of 2012 are:

The-Scorpio-Races

The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater. Flesh eating horses rise from the foam of the sea every year off of an island and the inhabitants of the island catch them, tame them, and ride them in a race to win a large amount of money.  Puck Connolly a young girl with a lot of life left to live, joins the races to save her family and the only home she’s ever known. I love this book for being an extremely strong story with a strong character and was engaging that I was able to sit in an airport for hours on my way to deal with a huge family tragedy. For that, I will always be thankful to Ms. Stiefvater. She has her own list of reads in 2012. Read my full review here. Raven Boys (review to follow tomorrow) nearly beat this one out of the running, but I think the Scorpio Races will appeal to a wider audience as it is a stand alone and the family relationships are a huge part of the book.

cc Che via Wikimedia Commons

The Rook by Daniel O’Malley. Myfanwy Thomas becomes aware of her surroundings with no memory of her past or why she is standing in the street having just fought several people. She has only two envelopes in her pocket to help guide her. One of them promises an escape to a beautiful island, the other one promises a road of treachery, betrayal, and answers. O’Malley crossed genres with his wonderful work of fiction. His world building was incredible and I sit here still in awe of what I read. You can check out my review here.

bitterblue-dial-for-blogger

Bitterblue by Kristin Cashore. Bitterblue is a young queen who rules over a land where people Graced with magic live rebuilding their lives after Bitterblue’s sadomasochistic and psychotic father ruled for forty years. Seeking to learn more about the land she is rebuilding, Bitterblue sneaks out of the castle at night to listen to the stories her people tell. During the day she deals dealing with court intrigue and domestic unrest. This is just such a wonderful book full of beautiful imagery and a strong heroine. It is a story about abuse and the effects it has on people for generations, a thought provoking tales in the middle of a fantasy intrigue. Beautifully done. Read my full review  here.

let's pretend this never happened a mostly true memoir

Let’s Pretend This Never Happened, A Mostly True Memoir by Jenny Lawson. This is the story of The Bloggess as she deals with a childhood full of stuffed dead animals, growing up and coming to understand that she suffers from depression, and the wonderful tale of her journey to be a mother. This book made me laugh so hard I was crying, and cried so hard I went through a box of tissues. A truly remarkable story. Read my review here and about the day I met her and turned into a cave woman. No joke.

Those are my top books of the  year. Anyone have suggestions for ones I should read this year (because my tbr pile isn’t humungo already)?

8 thoughts on “Top Books of 2012

  1. Great list! I LOVED The Rook. It really surprised me as a new kind of engaging fantasy and I’m glad to see it up here.

    The Scorpio Races and Bitterblue are two books I need to read this year. This is a great list! 🙂

    • I totally agree! I have five eaudio books and five regular books on hold at the library waiting for them to show up, and I’ve several books in the tbr pile next to my bed, and many more I’ve set up in GoodReads to remind myself about when I’ve finished with all of those. LOL It’s an impossible task!

  2. Pingback: Book Review: Fire | Absurdly Nerdly

Leave your own absurd thought

