Single Awareness Day

Happy Single Awareness Day everyone. The only thing cool about today is that I get to send my nieces little cards that make them fee special and I’ve a review of Looper appearing later. You can thank me later.

This is pretty much what I think about the world’s most Hallmark-ed holiday.

My most notable exceptions to the humdrum of this holiday are rather nefarious. My brother signed me up for some radio show thing where I was supposed to get auctioned off for a date. I’m not sure what happened, they filled the forms out wrong or the person never followed through, but after berating my brother for several minutes and then nothing else happened I sighed in relief and proceeded to ignore him. Last year I gave my then boyfriend a Valentine I made by hand which I thought was both humorous and cute, the Valentine, not me making it by hand. He replied, “You know I don’t do this kind of stuff, right?”

I looked at him for a minute and then said, “I don’t give Valentines to get them.”

But, it all kind of soured me on the whole having a boyfriend on Valentines Day thing. Now I just make some cute Valentines Day cards and send them off to my nieces whom I’m sure will enjoy them to pieces. I just need to find some stamps around here. . .

6 thoughts on “Single Awareness Day

    • I think he was a little panicked. And to be fair once I pointed out to him I wasn’t demanding anything, he was quite gracious and thanked me. It was still an odd moment. LOL

    • When I was a kid we used to make these really cool Valentines and spend the whole day crafting and learning about St. Valentine. I like making projects so that is about all the good the holiday has ever done me.
      Spending time with people you care about doing things you like, always equal the best days.

  1. I think it’s over-rated… I never quite know what to do about it LOL I spent ten minutes looking for a couple of cards last night (one for my son and one for his mother, from my son) and it was a battle just to see the damn things through the people crowding the display *sigh*

Leave your own absurd thought

