Picture Me Reading Book Club Extra: Post Apocalyptic Worlds

Picture Me Reading

Guess what! I’m a guest over on Picture Me Reading today, where I join Alisa and Aidan during their Book Club Extra audio discussion. I’m a huge fan of both Alisa’s Picture Me Reading blog where she illustrates her book reviews and Aidan’s Chair With A Panda blog where he reviews Doctor Who television episodes, movies, and tie-in books.

This week we discuss Post Apocalyptic Worlds in literature. My picks range from debut novels to stories about the fae. We discuss war, infectious outbreaks, dwindling resources, and how chocolate and coffee may become rare resources for realzies. What!?

AND if you haven’t heard or seen my tweets about this, there is now a radio adaptation of Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman is available on BBC Radio 4! And it looks like it will be available to download after the series has complete!!! WOOT.

PLUS! Later today, a prize for you all to fight for. So stick around, more cool things are on their way!

If you want a list of our picks you can check them out after the break as well as links to written and illustrated reviews, blurbs, and audio discussions on others. A lot of links, a lot of fun, you can now waste your whole morning here. (You can thank me later)

Alisa: Rot and Ruin by Jonathan Maberry (Zombies), Divergent/Insurgent by Veronica Roth (War), All These Things I’ve Done by Gabrielle Zevin (Dwindling Resources)

Aidan: The Eleventh Plague by Jeff Hirsch (Influenza), Children of Dust by Louise Lawrence (Nuclear Warfare), The Pear Wars by Nick James (Out of Power)

Me: Uglies by Scott Westerfeld (Bacteria), Unshapely Things by Mark Del Franco (Convergence), Ready Player One by Ernest Cline (Dwindling Resources)

2 thoughts on “Picture Me Reading Book Club Extra: Post Apocalyptic Worlds

    • Whenever I’m looking up your and Aidan’s lists I kind of sigh because I have yet more books to add to my tbr pile. LOL

      I had fun thinking about what made my picks unique from other dystopian and post apocalyptic worlds. Thanks for having me!

Leave your own absurd thought

