Book Review: Personal Demons

personal demons by stacia kane

After reading the Downside Ghosts series and really falling in love with the universe that Stacia Kane created I decided to see if I would like her Megan Chase series about a psychologist who sees people’s personal demons, for realzies. I actually read the second book first because it took me a while to track down a copy of Personal Demons. But believing I may have missed something important I went back and read the first book. While I do like this series, it didn’t quite capture my attention like the Chess Putnam books which I tracked down like a person searching for crack cocaine. Also, unlike the Chess Putnam series, reading it out of order didn’t really matter. I actually figured out the first book from reading the second book, it was sort of like watching a rerun and catching a few new things I hadn’t seen before. Actually, the first book got a little hokey and I think the second book was a better story.

Megan promises listeners to her new radio call-in show that she’ll “slay their personal demons,” and they believe her. So do the personal demons… although she doesn’t know it, Megan is the only human without a demon on her shoulder! Megan and her allies – a demon lover who both protects and seduces her with devilish intensity, a witch with poor social skills, and three cockney guard demons – have to deal not only with the personal demons, but a soul-sucker, ghosts of Megan’s past, and a reporter who threatens to destroy Megan’s career! Synopsis from GoodReads.

I like Megan, she is completely different from Chess and perhaps a bit easier to relate to on some level because she works a regular job, until she picks up a radio career, she has relationship troubles, is trying to find balance with her work and life, and really doesn’t want to believe that demons exist and that she has a connection to the supernatural world. What gets a little frustrating is that she doesn’t want deal with her responsibilities and she puts herself and other people in danger. I mean if there was suddenly a supernatural aspect to my life, I would know how to deal with it. I could chop up zombies, salt ghosts, punish demi-demons, what have you.  While Megan admits to being a psychic and uses her ability when helping patients, she still wants to stick her head in the sand when it comes to her responsibilities to the demon world.

I did like the steamy sexy male lead, Dante. I think because of her erotica background, Stacia Kane writes some of the best sexy times I’ve read in the UF genre. She writes connections (and not just the physical kind) between the characters, so that even though the male characters are not always the most educated or the best with saying their feelings, by the way Kane writes their physicality and the couples connection it’s hard not to fall in love with the male lead as you read. Dante has The Brothers (of some monster background) guard Megan, and honestly they were my favorite part of the book. Their interactions with Megan verses how they interact with the world were such a juxtaposition that it was kind funny to see it all play out.

A fun sexy demon book, Personal Demons is more than just a romance it is also about one woman’s journey of self discovery of her powers and abilities. Will she be able to master them in time to deal with all the crazy in her life?

Leave your own absurd thought

