DIY Project: Refinish and Remaking a Bench

It is my new goal to publish a post every day. I feel I need a little bit more routine and discipline and this hopefully will help.

Chris and I have undertaken several projects around the house. One of them was remaking a piano bench. We were given the piano bench from my sister, so that cost us nothing, then Chris built a top to it using scrap wood at work, so that also cost us nothing. We went to Joanne Fabrics right before Christmas and got some fabric and a sale on fake snow that I used as stuffing. The only thing I wish we had done differently was that I wish we had gotten upholstery fabric instead of just regular cloth. As it is, the edges are fraying a bit from where the staples are holding it to the top.

I used this post as a guide for the project.

Piano bench painted black

Piano bench painted black

Detachable Top

Detachable Top

Underside of top. Wooden tabs help keep the top in place.

Underside of top. Wooden tabs help keep the top in place.

Staple three sides down, making sure to tuck corners nicely, then stuff.

Staple three sides down, making sure to tuck corners nicely, then stuff.

Stuffing the seating took the longest. I used some batting around the edges so that the corners and seams wouldn’t be uncomfortable. I worked the fake snow for quite some time, but it is still a tad lumpy. I guess that is what you get for using cheap stuffing material instead of foam. But I think it still turned out nicely.

finished project

Chris keeps saying the next time we redo this top… He said it like 3 minutes after finishing. I was like, Um,can we just enjoy how it looks and feels now and not be obsessed with perfection?

Apparently not.

2 thoughts on “DIY Project: Refinish and Remaking a Bench

Leave your own absurd thought

