Movie Review: Blade Runner

blade runner

Summary from IMDB:

A blade runner must pursue and try to terminate four [R]eplicants who stole a ship in space and have returned to Earth to find their creator.

Jami’s Comments:

This is one of Chris’ favorite movies and books. I’ve tried to read the book, but the beginning is a bit dry and so I’m slowing making my way past parts where a man rewrites his wives emotions so that she acts in a manner he wants. Yes, that is how the book opens. It was not my favorite moment ever. The book, Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep, does get more interesting in time, and I’m sure I will eventually finish it. In the mean time, I convinced Chris that we should watch the movie together, because it would take me a bit longer to finish the book than originally thought. Last night we finally sat down to do so.

Well, I liked quite a bit of the movie, but the over the top 80’s feel that the movie is bathed in throughout every drawn out anxiety producing scene, was hard for me to get past to enjoy the message of the movie. I was intrigued by the first three fourths of the movie, because I do find the parallel universe idea interesting, especially how technology develops different than our own. I also really liked the set up of androids, or Replicants, hunting down their maker in order to extend their life’s existence. All of that was appealing, and well done. The acting is superb, if over the top, but that is more about the writing than bad acting, and I think everyone did a great job.

My problem is with the last quarter of the movie. I could barely watch it. I do not like drawn out scenes where it takes five minutes to break someone’s hand, or twenty minutes to howl at the moon? life? before jumping from building to building. So, while the message of the movie, and the concept of the movie, are some of my favorite things, I really did not enjoy the execution of that message or concept.

I am curious about the rumors that a Blade Runner 2 is in the works. I would like to see such a production with a more modern twist and execution than the original one.

Roy-Batty-Dove-2

Chris’ Comments:

Blade Runner is one of the most amazing movies ever. Although it strays from the book quite a bit, I feel that the same questions and discoveries of humanity are explored in both. For me, the message of both reminds us humans that personal freedom of expression can be lost in the mundane. That we can become part of a standard, living our days in a manner of that which is expected of us instead how we want to live it. Free.

When the Replicants were created, they were meant to be “more human than human.” However, the result was a resurrection of the human desire for freedom and a need for true emotion, because they were created to be slaves without empathy. In the movie, one of the greatest moments was when the Replicant saved Deckard and tries to connect with a human, “Quite an experience to live in fear, isn’t it? That’s what it is to be a slave.”

When I first saw this movie, in particular that scene, I connected to those emotions. I was going through similar emotional experiences in my own life in leaving religion. When I was still religious, I lived with constant fear. Fear of doing things wrong, of going to hell, or displeasing god. This movie helped me realize that in such fear I was a slave to my mind, to religion, to fear.

Overall the movie leaves the audience with more questions than answers, but that is what I like about it. The message that life should be a constant discovery. That we should question our lives, and our beliefs.

One thought on “Movie Review: Blade Runner

  1. Pingback: Week of Movie Reviews | Absurdly Nerdly

Leave your own absurd thought

