Audible Book Review: The Memoirs of Sherlock (Dramatised) (Unabridged)

I wanted to listen to something a little bit different and thought getting a dose of Sherlock Holmes would be just the thing. I chose a dramatized version because I tend to like those types of audiobooks the beset. I read all of Sir Author Connan Doyle’s works about Sherlock when I was younger, but figured I would have forgotten most of what I read and it would be as though I was reading them for the first time.

  The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes (Dramatised) | [Arthur Conan Doyle]

Summary from Audible.com

With his devoted Dr Watson, Holmes emerges from his smoke-filled rooms in Baker Street to grapple with the forces of treachery, intrigue and evil, including the diabolical Professor Moriarty.

This is a compilation of Holmes story told in no particular order that I could discern. Perhaps I had my hopes too high for this audiobook, but I thought it would have more than one person reading the book. I thought the random stories would be the most exciting ones, but they were a study in average Holmes tales. I thought I would have forgotten more than I had and unfortunately instead of a big reveal at the end of the story (chapter) I would remember a quarter of the way into the story how it went and what was the end result. Perhaps I was expecting Benedict Cumberbatch, Martin Freeman, and Andrew Scott and should have known better. I did finish it because I wanted something to listen to during my morning and evening commute because traffic drives me bonkers otherwise, but there were times I found myself day dreaming over listening to the story. 

Derek Jacobi was the voice over actor. His narration was fine and he did a good John Watson but his Holmes was hardly distinguishable from the former. On the occasional country man Jacobi would manage a slightly different accent, but for the most part it was hard to tell who was talking and occasionally so monotone I would tune it out (this may also have been due to heavier than normal traffic at that moment as well). Moral of the story, f you have a free credit on audible and want to try out something new, be sure to try the entire sample and see if it is read in a way that will keep your ears interested.

2 thoughts on “Audible Book Review: The Memoirs of Sherlock (Dramatised) (Unabridged)

Leave your own absurd thought

