Audio Book Review: To Kill a Mockingbird

My husband recently downloaded To Kill a Mockingbird by Lee Harper, read by Sissy Spacek, on Audible because he had never read it before. I was excited to see his choice and the second he was done listening to it I downloaded it onto my phone and dived right in. I was excited because I had read the book quite a while ago and absolutely loved it. I remembered the main points of the book and was curious to see what I had forgotten. I was not disappointed. I’m still in love with this book and when Lee Harper’s next piece of art, Go Set a Watchman, hits the shelves I’m going to download that on Audible as well and listen to Reese Witherspoon read it.

To Kill a Mockingbird

Summary from Amazon:

The unforgettable novel of a childhood in a sleepy Southern town and the crisis of conscience that rocked it, To Kill A Mockingbird became both an instant bestseller and a critical success when it was first published in 1960. It went on to win the Pulitzer Prize in 1961 and was later made into an Academy Award-winning film, also a classic.

Compassionate, dramatic, and deeply moving, To Kill A Mockingbird takes readers to the roots of human behavior – to innocence and experience, kindness and cruelty, love and hatred, humor and pathos. Now with over 18 million copies in print and translated into forty languages, this regional story by a young Alabama woman claims universal appeal. Harper Lee always considered her book to be a simple love story. Today it is regarded as a masterpiece of American literature.

The reason Ms Harper won a Pulitzer PrizeΒ is because this book is simply amazing. Full of humor and heartache, the reader watches as a young girl grows up in a very very southern town in Alabama in the 1930s.

Her father, Atticus Finch, puts on a masterful defense of his client and while I find law stuff fascinating in general, I think most people would agree that even the mundane bits of the trial are interesting in Lee Harper’s capable hands. Atticus is a master sorry teller because Harper is herself.

I enjoyed the voice acting of Sissy Spacek. She has a wonderful listing southern accent that rings true. But her children’s voices are hardly distinguishable. While the country kids have decent country accents, Scout and Jim’s voices are hard to tell apart, and they do a great deal of the talking. But with the wonderful written words of Harper guiding the story, I didn’t have trouble following along except a handful of times.

If you’ve been wanting to reread this book before Harper’s next one comes out, I would suggest getting the audiobook. I’m glad I did.

Leave your own absurd thought

