Audio Book Review: Dead Heat: Alpha and Omega, Book 4

I am still a big fan of Anna and Charles and couldn’t wait to get my hands on a copy of Dead Heat the latest book in the Alpha and Omega series by Patricia Briggs.  I do have a few quibbles with this series and its predecessor the Mercedes Thompson series, but as I was browsing through Audible trying to find a good book to start listening to I remembered that I had made a few attempts to grab at this book and didn’t succeed, a quick search and I was nearly instantaneously listening to Holter Graham read about Anna and Charles planning a vacation to Arizona. A vacation I knew wouldn’t stay a vacation for long.

Summary from Amazon:

For once, mated werewolves Charles and Anna are not traveling because of Charles’s role as his father’s enforcer. This time, their trip to Arizona is purely personal–or at least it starts out that way…
Charles and Anna soon discover that a dangerous Fae being is on the loose, replacing human children with simulacrums. The Fae’s cold war with humanity is about to heat up—and Charles and Anna are in the cross fire.

Often as series progress authors can get repetitive or formulaic in their story lines, but not Patricia Briggs. This is by far my favorite of the Alpha and Omega series, it was everything I was looking for in the continuing adventures of Anna and Charles. I enjoyed them leaving their home and Bran and branching out on their own for something for themselves. I enjoyed the background of an Arabian horse breeding and showing farm. I enjoyed Arizona as a playground for the mystery. I just really enjoyed this book.

The Fae are brought into this edition and the reader learns more about how the supernatural world is not as serene or together as the public face that they show. I like the females that are introduced in this book. They are strong, courageous, not always perfect, but always there for their families. One of my favorite things is how Briggs writes women as complex characters with weakness that are overshadowed by their strengths.

This book is full of strong, different, sometimes wrong, but always trying to do the right thing, characters set in an dangerous situation where they fight to survive. Another great story by Patricia Briggs.

 

 

 

Leave your own absurd thought

