Book Discussions, Cover Wars, Memes, and Libraries in Trees

Read or join the discussion over on io9 on what readers think will become classic books to future generations. Some people took the discussion seriously . . . and some people did not. Just like usual over here on the internets.

If you haven’t been to their blog, check out The Book Wars. I just love The Cover Wars that take place between the writers of the blog. I almost always judge a book by its cover, I wont even lie about it.

I always enjoy the various postings where bloggers join in the Top Ten Tuesday weekly meme from The Broke and the Bookish. I always mean to join, and I never remember until I’m going through my Reader list of blogs I follow. At the bottom of their posting for the week other book bloggers join in with their own links on that weeks discussion. A great way to connect with other book bloggers!

Next weeks assignment: July 28: Ten Characters Who Are Fellow Book Nerds (love reading, are writers, work at a bookstore, etc.) (inspired by my Top Ten Characters Who Love Words).

Another weekly meme that spotlights upcoming anticipated book releases and that is constantly popping up in my Reader feed, one that gets me to stop my scrolling through my never ending list of blog posts I need to read, is Waiting on Wednesday by Breaking the Spine. A fun way to find out about new upcoming books. Head on over there today for a new discussion and links to more great finds.

Public libraries in trees! This is not a joke. What a great encasement for a book sharing spot. I love it!

In fact, I recently came across a Little Free Library in a tree trunk myself. It looks like people are taking books more than they are adding to the collection. But hopefully that will change as more people in the area discover it.

tree library

Leave your own absurd thought

