Audiobook Review: Crimson City by Liz Maverick

This fall I borrowed Crimson City by  Liz Maverick read by Rebecca Rogers from the library. Crimson City is the new name for Los Angeles after a bloody war between vampires and werewolves.  A tentative truce has come into existence, and it is threatened by assassinations of high level members of the vampires.

7317076

Summary from GoodReads:

Once, this was the City of Angels. The angels are no longer in charge. From the extravagant appetites of the vampire world above, to the gritty defiance of the werewolves below, the specter of darkness lives around every corner, the hope of paradise in every heart. All walk freely with humans in a tentative peace, but to live in Los Angeles is to balance on the edge of a knife. One woman knows better than most that death lurks here in nights of bliss or hails of UV bullets. She’s about to be tested, to taste true thirst. She’s about to regain the power she’s long been denied. And Fleur Dumont is about to meet the one man who may understand her: a tormented protector who’s lost his way and all he loved.

The story is told from two points of view. Fleur is vampire royalty, but has less ranking than she should in her community because of a youthful indiscretion. Dain is a human investigator who is assigned to the case and must work with Fleur to figure out who is targeting the Vampires and by extension the truce. What I thought started out as a really good concept, ground to a halt for me as the story and romance progressed. Fleur and Dain are rather one dimensional characters that can’t step off of their stereotype soap boxes and with some very overtly misogynistic tendencies thrown in there, without any hit of mutually agreed upon bondage contractual relationships or internal reflection on whether it is right or wrong, what I was hoping was a fun urban fantasy romance disappointingly sizzles away to nothing.

It is possible future books explore the characters in more depth and their relationship comes under scrutiny, but without a solid foundation to work from I am not that interested in finding out. Though future books are written by different authors, so maybe I should.

Rebecca Rogers was a decent narrator/ voice over actor. Her voices were not all that different, but as long as I don’t hate the sound of a narrators voice, I don’t really care about voices so much. It’s not one I would go out and buy the audiobook of to listen to again and again like some of my other books, but it is hard to tell if that is because of the author or the narrator.

There were some minor characters that I actually found more engaging and the entire premise is right up my ally, so there were enough interesting things happening that I finished the book. The case solving aspect was definitely a better plot than the romance aspect was.  It’s an easy read, but not campy enough to overlook the plot holes and not engaging enough to want to find out if the characters develop into anything more than stereotypes. Which is sad, because UV bullets to kill vampires and fight scenes with creatures that can basically fly should be a story that I can wholeheartedly endorse. If you are looking for an easy read that is more about brain resting than deep analysis Crimson City is a decently written urban fantasy novel.

Read a review from Likes Books.

2 thoughts on “Audiobook Review: Crimson City by Liz Maverick

  1. You know, those are the type of books that I’m never sure if I should pick up, because I will either become obsessed with the series/author, or I will hate it and never pick up a similar book again. I read quite a bit, but can say that I have never ever listened to an audiobook. I am *somewhat* interested in giving it a try, but don’t know where to start. I read a wide variety of books, and was wondering if you would be willing to give me a couple recommendations that you thought would be real winners so I can see if I thought I would like the audiobook route from time to time.

    • Hi Rose,

      This series had an interesting premise and I do think I’ll check out the other books as they are by different authors.

      I’m a big fan of audiobooks. I listen to them as I drive to and from work. I recommend starting with American Gods by Neil Gaiman. It is an audiobook with a full cast. If you have not heard the story before, it appeals to a wide variety of readers and is both contemporary and slightly mythical.

      Also, check into your local library’s audiobook listing. A lot of major cities have them available as part of your library patronage. It just requires downloading a program onto your phone or computer. The two libraries I’ve worked with both use Overdrive. A very simple and intuitive program. This way you can checkout books, download them to your phone, and listen to them for free! And if you decide not to finish them you are not out any money, which is nice!

      Additionally, all audiobooks, both those I get from the library and those I get from Audiable.com have a free sample so you can listen to the narrators voice before deciding if you want to give that person approximately 9 hours of your life! 🙂

      If you have a particular genre of books that you read, let me know and I’ll try and remember if I’ve listened to a good audiobook in that genre!

Leave your own absurd thought

