Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten New-To-Me Favorite Authors I Read For The First Time In 2015

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme by The Broke and the Bookish where fellow book bloggers, and anyone who wants, can contribute to a themed top ten list. Today we are to pick Top Ten New-To-Me Favorite Authors I Read For The First Time In 2015.

e2536-toptentuesday

Unfortunately, I do not have ten new-to-me authors that I can favorite. I have four. I read several new authors because I was trying out new series or got free books via Amazon Kindle, but most of the authors I would not go back to or read the next book in the series.

The Lost Gate: Mithermages, Book 118053542

Orson Scott Card was a new-to-me author this year, and I’m sure those who have read him will understand why he is rapidly becoming a favorite of mine. His writing is excellent, his prose wonderful, and his world building amazing. Check out my review of The Lost Gate and The Gate Thief.

Floors, Patrick Carman

Patrick Carmen is a new-to-me favorite author from this year because I thought his book Floors was quite imaginative. I haven’t gone on to read more in the series, but that is because I got burnt out on really young protagonist this summer. I will definitely get back to this series after I’ve read some different aged protagonist and some different genres.

The Alchemyst: The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel, Book 1 | [Michael Scott]

Michael Scott wrote the series The Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel, which I’ve had a couple of friends tell me I would probably enjoy. I finally picked up a copy of the first book, The Alchemyst, and was duly impressed. I have the second book in the series sitting on my bookshelf on my growing tbr pile.

graveyard shift

Angela Roquet was a new-to-me author this year and her writing stood out to me in the Graveyard Shift because her women had actual female agency. It was a refreshing change after all the other romance/urban fantasy romance/historical romance books I had read that did not. I’ve been meaning to get back to her series and I’m glad this posting helped me remember that.

 

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten New-To-Me Favorite Authors I Read For The First Time In 2015

Leave your own absurd thought

