Nodds & Nends: Wacky Inventions, Diverse Casts in Kids Books, and Spamming the Spammers

It’s time, another Nodds & Nends, some Nerdy Odds and Ends on the internets that will hopefully make your day a little brighter.

Want to see some crazy things people have invented over the years? Check out this The Daily Buzz article, Wacky Inventions That Never Stood A Chance that was reposted by George Takei on his Facebook page.

I really really need those skates.

The Daily Buzz

Photo Credit: cracktwo

I really love reading the articles on The Book Wars blog. I was especially delighted with this list of children’s pictures books centered around the theme of dance that also have a diverse cast of characters. Read the article by Jane Whittingham Five Finds Lets Dance here.

I follow Misty Copeland on Instagram and was delighted to see that there is a picture book about her journey to be come a soloist with the American Ballet Theater. Awesome!

Firebird by Misty Copeland

Firebird by Misty Copeland

My most recent favorite find on the internets is the video about a guy who likes to respond to spam/scam emails until the spammer/scammer gives up and tells him to stop email them. Posted by Mashable this guy’s video about trying to get a toaster is hilarious!

When I shared this on my personal Facebook page a friend replied with an newspaper article from the Boston Globe that is along the same lines, The Spam Victim Strikes Back! By Mark Pothier. I giggled for a long time. 

I like to make fun of spammers as is evident by my posts Spam Mail, Spam Mail Part 2, and Spam Mail Part 3, but I do not actually engage with them in real life, just inside my head.

2 thoughts on “Nodds & Nends: Wacky Inventions, Diverse Casts in Kids Books, and Spamming the Spammers

  1. Glad you liked my little post! On a related note, I actually used to work in a patent law firm, and a research company we did work with sent out a calendar every year that featured some of the weirdest patents ever granted. The Victorians in particular were pretty spectacular in their insane ingenuity, you just have to love them.

Leave your own absurd thought

